Ask Luís! (#N/A): A Personal Message

While this message doesn’t really have a question attached (and such I won’t number it with the rest), I still feel the need to answer it since it’s a personal message to me. This one is from Peter Stockwell all the way from France:

Hi Luis,

I missed you on DL, so here I am.

Um abraço da França!

Tudo bem ?

Hello, Peter! It’s so nice to hear from you :) First of all, I’m sorry I didn’t answer your query right away – to be honest, I wasn’t sure exactly what to do with it, especially how I could integrate it within the framework of this particular segment, but I knew I had to answer it somehow: I’m not the kind of person who just leaves someone hanging on like that.

Everything’s alright with me – the state of the world still troubles me immensely, and these last terrorist attacks really struck a chord with me because I’ve been to Brussels last October, I’ve passed by that metro station and that airport, but I’m trying not to get too carried away by emotion; when people do that, they usually just spout nonsense that only makes people more isolated and prone to feeling detached, and I don’t really want to live my life in fear – I like people too much to fall for that.

I’m also doing surprisingly well without Duolingo – it was part of my daily routine for 9 months, but I’m glad of the decision I made and how I made it. I’ve now gotten back to my Dutch, and I’m also trying to dabble a bit in Danish: my mind is always wandering to something else, it can’t be helped!

I hope all is well with you and your family over there in France, and I hope you keep following this blog so we can remain in touch :)

Um grande abraço de Portugal do

Luís

2 thoughts on “Ask Luís! (#N/A): A Personal Message

  1. edmeyr March 25, 2016 / 10:00 pm

    You may have “flown from the nest” as Peter posted lately on DL, but you are missed. I like the idea that you are still on DL…even if it is in another capacity. The blog is beautifully formatted! Best, from Little Rhoady, Elaine

    Like

    • luisdomingos March 28, 2016 / 2:28 pm

      Thank you so much for your words, Elaine, they mean a lot to me. It’s good to know the things I’ve done on DL have a longer shelf life than my actual presence there, even if the goal of making sure EP speakers and learners were properly represented and accounted for didn’t exactly have more lasting effects. (:

      Like

Leave a Reply

